My Afflatus

Dedicated to those that have “showed up” in my life. Especially my clients and Marines, ready to do “the work.” Because of YOUR life, I am inspired. You are my afflatus this morning…(EK, JC, Lt. FGO, FL, CL, MS, JK, AZ, LA, SB, LB, on and on and on…Thank you for trusting me.)

IMG_3530

“You hold the paint palette of your canvas. Create it from your heart. And like the trekking at Angel’s Landing in Zion, one step at a time, speak your heart’s truth to your mind. It will hear you. It will concur with your heart’s whisper. I promise.” Excerpt from Buckle Up!

IMG_3371ZION! ZION! ZION! This word or place or metaphorical afflatus (look that one up!) has been whispered in my ear for the past two months.  If you look up Zion on the world wide web, you may find a few different definitions, translations and ideas on what Zion is, means and was historically. I am going to stick to the basics of what I have found. Or of what I liked. 🙂

“Zion” can be looked at as:

THE WORLD TO COME. 

IMG_3957If you are a diligent Still Playin’ With It reader, you know about my adventure in the Grand Canyon with my folks which ended in a very scary and unforeseen accident where my father fell and severely sprained his ankle. The hours to follow were inspiring and courageous. If interested in this WILD story, check out Namaste Grand Canyon. From the premature end to my travels in the Grand Canyon, I stepped in to ZION National Park ready for my WORLD TO COME.

IMG_3301

Stepping in to the unknown can be, well scary, to say the least. What is next? Who will be there? How? What? When? Whether by pure exhaustion or the monotony of their current circumstance, I often experience people finally ready to explore their WORLD TO COME. And get out of their own way! They are ready. Ready to stop the feedback loops in their mind. Ready to dig deep. Ready to sift more in to who they are to be in their NEW WORLD TO COME! It is the biggest gift and honor in my life to do this with YOU!

“Life lesson: Small steps lead to GREAT and significant accomplishments! Even in the midst of fear, take a step.”- From my blog DIG DEEP PEEPS 

I will hold your hand. And heart…

IMG_3163One of the ways to DIG DEEP is by “showing up” (in my office, in your life, in your heart) prepared to step in to the “cave you fear to enter” as Joseph Campbell wittingly coined. As well, most of you know, I stepped in to this cave post separation from my ex-husband over three years ago. These pivotal moments (divorce, heart ache, loss of job, person, life circumstances) act as points of reference to take a leap in to YOUR WORLD TO COME!

IMG_3169This “cave” or the precipice of change, and/or letting go, circles us back to the Hero’s Journey and the “Call to Adventure.” Right? Here is a link to my blog on the Hero’s Journey. The Hero’s Journey has been a significant afflatus in my life since my leap. If you haven’t read or learned about Joseph Campell’s “Hero’s Journey”, and you want to be inspired, please watch Finding Joe on Finding joe dot com. Or Itunes. 😉

“We all have the choice to make a decision that may be detrimental to our growth, yet provides momentary satisfaction. Or make a decision that provides painful growth and possible discomfort, yet is the ultimate reward. What will your decision be?” – Excerpt from Hero I Go

IMG_3264I often speak on creating YOUR reality and YOUR world. I often riff about the POWER within YOU! YOU are responsible for YOUR own well being! YOU are! Not me. Not your partner. Not your parents. YOU! It is a ton of responsibility isn’t it?

Well, I think it is time for YOU to hear this:

Stop blaming. Stop being a victim. Stop making excuses. Dig Deep. Show up. Be courageous. And if you need a little push, or a soft prod, ask for support.

IMG_3292I am confident of your ability. I am secure in the perfection of timing. I am 100% fucking stoked on YOU! From Portugal to Australia. From Africa to Sweden. The United States to England. Thank YOU for reading my words, trusting my nudge and SHOWING UP!

Now, Let’s GO! 

Accept your call to YOUR ZION! It is YOURS! THE WORLD TO COME! How exciting!

Love, Rebecca

IMG_3270.

“Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.” Benjamin Franklin

2 thoughts on “My Afflatus

  1. Very encouraging Ms Rebecca!!
    As long as we can vent, have an occasional pity party, we can move on… And move on we can and will, I do believe!’

    Like

Leave a Reply

