Tag! You’re It!

“The privilege of a lifetime is being WHO YOU ARE!” Joseph Campbell

IMG_0277

Helloooo Still Playin’ With It Family!

I got to spend a spectacular weekend with my father. He came for a quick visit from Oregon. What a stellar man. Sincerely he is the tour guide that made me who I am today in every way. We cruised the beach discussing the worlds’ problems and bitched about annoyances. We laughed and drank margaritas on the beach that we bought at the liquor store. #lawbreakers 🙂  The best memory of the past weekend is when my dad and I created our own personal Tag Lines. I will reveal below…read on. IMG_2850

I riff quite often on remembering that we are RIGHT where we are supposed to be. Even in the awkward, uncomfortable spaces. As I dropped my father off at the airport this a.m. I was sad to say good bye for now. Did I yell out my Ford Edge as I drove off, “Later Pops! I won’t miss you because I am right where I am supposed to be…one thousand miles away from my favorite man!” Hell no! I was fucking bummed. (F-Bomb for you DB) For good reason, too.

As I negotiated with my brain and heart throughout the day, I recognized this: In our Hero’s Journey we are called to adventure! Is my adventure nestled in the comfort of my home in Oregon with my folks? No. Is it sitting next to my best mates in the Great Pacific Northwest? (RD, DS and KG) Nope. BUT, it is in a space I created. A life I sought and discovered on my Hero’s Journey.

My adventure and the Tag-Line I created for my life stemming from past experiences, present moments, and future dreams is this:

Rebecca Laser: Travelin’ the world and kicking ass. 

IMG_4443

This adventure is laid out in a yellow brick road of F.G.O’s. and moments that stretch us to a point of exhaustion. Remember readers: We grow the most from things that stretch us the most!

The quote below is from Do Do or Doo Doo. A valuable read from Still Playin’ With It.

“How do we become strong? First, you must identify your definition of strong. How does strength show up in your life? Generally speaking, in order to become strong, we allow ourselves to experience the pain of growth, or the discomfort of stretching our muscles to a point of exhaustion. Thereby, experiencing the amazement of building YOUR STRENGTH!”

Is your adventure stretching you today? If so I give you a big fat high five! You are doing it! Good on ya! It is courage that pushes you through those moments you want to say, “Fuck it!” and give up? (That is two DB) It is bravery that keeps you moving forward despite those uncomfortable times of fear that you feel!

What part of your Hero’s Journey are you forging through? The Call to Adventure? Are you slaying dragons? Or are you returning to tell the tale? Remember, I am with you.IMG_0296

Is my pops on this rad voyage with me? Am I able to connect with my Dad at any moment? Absolutely. My pops sent me this text this a.m:

“I am always with you.” 

And he is! You are always with me. I am always with you! May I even suggest we are one? Oh shit, that is for a whole other blog! (If interested in my esoteric opinion on the matter, shoot me an email and I will expand!)

Here is my dad’s Tag-Line he created at that moment on the sand. Fluffy, it isn’t. True, it is:

“R.C: Live life and F#@* the rest.”

IMG_2868

Yes, this is my dad for you. I love him for it! He has learned in his almost 70 years how to “Hike Life” and move forward without the shackles of other’s opinions, ideas and projections. Definitely lessons for all of us to learn. Yes?

What is your life Tag Line? Make it simple. Make it congruent with your intentions and who you are. And share it with me!

IMG_1193

“Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.” Benjamin Franklin

Leave a Reply

