Self Contained

“Listen to the beat of your heart.” -Rebecca Laser

DCIM100GOPRO

In last weeks blog: All In, I built upon the Joseph Campbell quote: “The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure that you seek.” Some of you may have discovered the cave, or tip toed around it this week. I hope you take a leap and jump on in. The treasure is worth the momentary discomfort. This cave will not only give you a gift, it will allow you to see and create new experiences in YOUR life. The ones you may have been dreaming of for decades. Proceed with caution as this cave may be a little treacherous. The number one rule in SCUBA: Always use the buddy system. Same with entering dim, scary, caves! Whether a trusted friend or an amazing therapist…(hint hint!)
DCIM100GOPROBefore going to Bali I got my SCUBA cert finished. Thank you for the inspiration Natgeo and KT! When in Gili Trawangan, a killer island off of Bali, I did my FIRST solo dive. Okey, my Indo dive master, did a pre-dive brief explaining the depth we would go to and what we may see. He went over the hand signals for sea creatures we may see such as turtles, sting rays and sharks. He spoke to me as if I knew what I was doing. I was thinking:

“Hey Okey, I dove at La Jolla Shores in California a few times inundated by massive amounts of gear and freezing cold water with little to no visibility. But, hey, seeing a shark sounds cool. I am just glad I will be able to see. Period.”

After my 45 second briefing, I boarded the boat and acclimated my self to my foreign gear. This regulator, BC and weighting system were totally different than what I used in Cali. Holy crap. I was feeling my heart rate escalate. I was completely aware that I didn’t feel safe to enter this “cave.” Then he told me how we would enter the water: “Sit up on the edge of the boat railing Rebecca and when I
DCIM100GOPRO say 3, fall back.”
What the hell did he just say? That picture to the right is of me before I fell back…I look freaked out, hey? Because I WAS!! I had to capture this moment on my Go-Pro. (Pics to the right…)

DCIM100GOPROIf you aren’t ready to step into the fearful cave, or fall back into it, then at least notice it, observe it and allow it to do it’s job. Maybe take a guided peak inside (buddy system, right?) If the fear is too great, it may not be time. And that is ok! Fear isn’t in our life to make us paralyzed and afraid.  It also serves a purpose: protection. If you are afraid to enter that cave, or aren’t ready, don’t stress. It will be there when you are ready. And remember: if you force something sooner than it is to happen, you won’t see or get the treasure that awaits.

After Okey and I fell back, I floated at the top for 5 seconds, took a deep breath, and down we went. What I then saw was more breathtaking, not literally, than I could have ever imagined. The sea life was phenomenal. The coral was beyond brilliant. I saw big turtles, a Moray Eel, many Nemos, and a few small reef sharks. I had a personal tour guide in Okey, too. Beyond the magnificent beauty of exploring the depths of the sea, I was exploring the depths of me.

SCUBA Lesson #1: Breathe. Just breathe! DCIM100GOPRO

I often tell my Still Playin’ With It family and my clients the importance of your breath. In How to Kick Ass in One Easy Step, I go into the amazement of our breath. I preach it. I teach it in my Pilates class. We do it daily without even thinking about it. When underwater all you have is the moment and your breath. Yes, your autonomic nervous system will control your breath and kick in when you are out of air or aren’t allowing it to flow naturally. But, in order to really flourish in this space, you have got to focus on your breath and allow it to be. What a pure realization for me. Breath is life. Lastly: When the going gets tough, the tough get breathing!

DCIM100GOPRO

In addition to the pure focus that comes to your beautiful breath when underwater, is the power your breath has within finding your buoyancy. I learned very fast that buoyancy is a key element to having fun down there. Buoyancy is defined as the ability to float in liquid. Finding neutral buoyancy is optimal while cruising around underwater.  Inhale: your lungs expand and you start to rise up. Exhale: your lungs decrease in size and you start to sink. Finding a smooth, rhythmic breath is where you want to be. Allowing yourself to feel that weightless, floating sensation is where the magic happens underwater and in life. This rhythmic space gives you a peace that surpasses fear.

DCIM100GOPRO

SCUBA Lesson #2: BE PRESENT! That is all you can do. 

Another life skill I teach often is Be Here Now, be aware, be present. When you are a human in the underwater world, all you have is NOW. If something was to go wrong, you have to be focused and present to handle it. If you are naturally focused on your breath and connected to the moment, then you are present, and able to handle the issues that may arise. As well as, enjoy each and every molecule and yummy second! Truly inspiring. Like when I am on my yoga mat, being underwater has taught me to stay present and focused on the NOW. NO WORRIES!

SCUBA Lesson #3: (more of a personal one) I am ALL IN!

DCIM100GOPROI am “all in” in everything I do lately. SCUBA is an example of me jumping in with all I am. No “half-ass” Rebecca Laser here. When I am “all in” I have learned to hear the wisdom of my inner guide, my authentic self, “My-Me.” (Link to Tootsie Rollin) Please hear me: sometimes this “all in” momentum isn’t my first choice. Some rare times, like I spoke of in All-In last week, I need a gentle push, or complete crash to be “all in.” Nevertheless, I AM IN! When YOU are “all in” you are able to hear the beat of your heart. Or as I “profoundly” stated this weekend to an amazing person in my life:

“I think it is when you actually listen to and follow your hearts guidance that the true resonation you are looking for in your life occurs.” (That is for you SC.)

My Next “ALL IN” experience: Getting my first SURF lesson today! Yew!

WHAT IS YOUR “ALL IN” EXPERIENCE GOING TO BE?! Breathe. Be present. Be “ALL IN”!

 DCIM100GOPRO

“Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.” Benjamin Franklin

One thought on “Self Contained

Leave a Reply

