Shake, Rattle and Kick ASS!

“Exercise is a beautiful equilibrium of weakness and strength.” -Me

IMG_6649

I would like to start this weeks flow off by sharing with you something about me personally. I am this woman, that you read…most of you weekly…from many countries…not knowing much about me. Except that I can throw some words together to form a sentence, and then a paragraph, and then a slew of connected paragraphs to make a semi-concise riff.

This week I accomplished a goal I set out to achieve over 5 years ago: I passed my second and final Licensing exam to be an “official” Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist in the state of California. CLAP CLAP! What a journey it has been.

I share this with you because I have learned so much in this process. Once it has set in, sifted into my being and is ready to shine…YOU will be the first to know and hear!

With that said, last week we chatted about the things in our life that we want to do or that we should doo. Here. I will make it easy for you to read if you haven’t: Do Do or Doo Doo (See MO!)

IMG_8062

SO, here is my DOO-DOO confessional regarding my exam: I did some stinky DOO DOO-ing on myself this week! Before I took my exam, I was unsettled…expressing anxiety and fear, reaching out for support and taking a ton of deep breaths! My “doo-doos”, which smell like shit too, sounded a bit like this: “Rebecca, have you studied enough? You didn’t doo this and you didn’t doo that! What if you don’t pass? Holy “doo-doo” pile, (like i’m on my knees praising this pile) what if you fail and then…” THEN WHAT?! Then nothing. We will be the same, smart, centered people we are in this moment, in that moment and every moment in between.

Remember last week from Do Do or Doo-Doo “Push through that discomfort. Move forward. Don’t stop and waste a bunch of time, pointless time, to stress about what may not happen.”

These Doo-Doos met their true form this week, because guess what? None of that wasted, SHIT STORM of Doo-Doos mattered or happened! So here is your amazing Still Playin With It life lesson for today: flush that poop down the toilet and call it good. Because it is ALL GOOD!

IMG_8417

Even more, “You cannot fail because you already succeeded.” came in an email this week (wink wink) and what a valuable tool that was for me on game day! That is the quote I had at the top of my ONE sheet of scratch paper. When you think of your Hero’s Journey and the different stages along the way, slaying the dragons (plural) is a part of this journey…You can’t fail at what you have already achieved: Answering the Call.

Check out my Hero’s Journey series for some dragon slayin’ revelations!  Hero I Go, then Insta This, and last but not least: Delta Delta Delta! Yummy stuff.

IMG_2110

Step one from last week was asking what you do do? So let’s look at Step 2: What do I want to do and aren’t doing quite yet? For example: I want to start exercising more regularly. 

We all experience this when we are prepping to exercise, or merely thinking what we should do…the cursed “shoulds”! The hardest part of a run or working out is before we even begin. Our minds are busier and working harder on why it is going to suck, more than our physical bodies are doing anything at all.

What you will find is if you actually start the routine, start moving your body towards the road, gym or studio, you will feel more energized as you move. As your body starts to feel that surge of Serotonin, the “feel good” neurotransmitter and Endorphins, those creatively, amazing chemical compounds that are produced while IN MOTION, you will actually desire MORE!

IMG_7612The term “Runner’s high” comes from these pesky blessings that are IN YOU! They reduce stress levels and create a feeling of euphoria. Not sure about you, but, I will take some of that! Natural Euphoria. Now that is delicious! IT IS IN YOU! All of it. Right inside of you! Use it. Absorb it. Feel it.

Lastly, step 3 states: set a small, savory goal. Something that will ignite you. Find that inner excitement I wrote about in Ignition…Check!

Andrew Carnagy says: “If you want to be happy, set a goal that commands your thoughts, liberates your energy and inspires your hopes.” Whether walking a mile (with a friend), hitting up that exhilarating Zumba class at your gym or hopping into a 5/10k, discover your inner hero through movement. (Link to Joggin’ For Frogmen 5K happening soon in SD!)

What form of movement ignites an energy in YOU? It doesn’t matter what it is. What matters is YOU moving forward into that feeling. Committing to yourself: I WILL LIVE A HEALTHY LIFE. DO IT!

Where are you headed? To the land of Natural Euphoria? Or to the land of Stinky Piles?

YOU CHOOSE!

 IMG_4767

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” – Lao Tzu

 

One thought on “Shake, Rattle and Kick ASS!

  1. I love it when you said that when we fail, we will be the same smart centered person we are at that moment. When we live by fear, this truth is taken away. So what if we fail at something it does not make us less of a person, we just learn to overcome adversity the next time. So thank you for reminding us that we are the same person we were. Also I am so proud of you congrats and enjoy you did it, you made it! Keep it up superstar! You still are the strongest person I know 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

