IGNITION…CHECK!

“The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are.” –Joseph Campbell

 IMG_4364

In concurrence with the above (spot on) quote…I shared with you in “Tootsie Rollin” about discovering “YOUR YOU”. This built on top of who YOU are in the midst of the whole in “For the Love of Legos”.  Which followed “Imatard, Uatard, Avatard”  where we came to understand that you are a piece of something bigger, or a reflection of who you are around. “I see you.” Remember? All that which is your privilege to be.IMG_4365

Links to the above blogs I mentioned:

Imatard, Uatard, Avatard

For the Love of Legos

Tootsie Rollin’

So…

To wrap up my Heroes Journey series, I feel it is important to discuss The last stage: The Return and discovery.

Prior to the return, you were fighting battles, knocking out soul terrorists, and possibly hating your life at times. Luckily, when we are open to it, and you have kicked your own ass, you will discover the reward that awaits you. This may be the hand of your princess/prince, the “kingdom” you wanted, money, fame, or a big chocolate bar…it doesn’t matter. What does matter is this: You accepted your call, you fought hard, you pushed through, and YOU WON! Now you come home to tell us about it…with your chocolatey princess at your side.

There has got to be a reward for you. Create your reward if you don’t think you got one. Go on a vacation, get a massage, spend time with someone that energizes your soul.(Nat Geo) You deserve it.IMG_4131

I have saved the best, or my favorite part of his work, for last: “Follow Your Bliss”. This isn’t just a pretty saying or a mere mantra. It is the beacon of light you are longing for. It is following and connecting with your “bliss” as you push on through your darkest points. This is where your deep sense of being is informing you…go where your body and soul want to go…listen to that voice inside. Moreover, following your bliss is what gets you going, it drives you, it makes you giggle, it motivates, it catapults, it makes every cell of your amazing structure IGNITE! So…what is your bliss?

Campbell believes this bliss has been there all the while, waiting for you to discover it. Or maybe to stop and reflect on what it is? What do you wake up at night thinking you wish you could do? What is something that gets your fires blazing? The thing that holds you apart from the rest? What adventure is calling to you? What makes you feel most alive? WHAT IS THE THING YOU CAN’T NOT DO?

“Wherever you are—if you are following your bliss, you are enjoying that refreshment, that life within you, all the time.

 -Joseph Campbell

This bliss is with you all the time because it is the thing leading you from the inside. It is guiding you through all the twists and turns of this lifetime. Therefore, if you are following this passion, you are enjoying the sweet nectar of YOUR life. And if you aren’t…I challenge you to pause, reflect and discover…this inner most, exciting part of YOU! Oh, I am so enthused for you. You matter. Your bliss matters. YOUR YOU matters…GO FIND IT! JUST GO!!!

IMG_4105While meditating, or simply stilling my mind, I heard this: “I will write. I will travel. I will teach.” That is my bliss. My bliss is inspiring people through my words, my experiences and my ability to connect with others no matter what language I speak, they speak, my skin color, or theirs. My last night in Rome, within 48 hours of my arrival…I was flipping pancakes in a small cafe with Laura and Anita: two local, limited English-speaking, beautiful souls. We were laughing so hard! We talked about life. We joked about silly things. We discussed my book. Laura said she wanted to buy my first copy. Connection: true connection, discovered on the path of following my bliss, following my souls journey.

From doing some self inventory and recognizing, owning and continuing to follow my bliss…I decided it was time to write a personal vision statement. I believe that this may change at times. You may refine it. You may discover a new path, in your new Heroes Journey, where your bliss evolves…and your passion reveals a sense of newness. Today, my vision statement is this:

“To reach, teach and energize people to discover their purpose, connect with their authentic selves, and be inspired.”

The opening quote inspires my heart. I couldn’t agree with him more. YOUR privilege of YOUR lifetime is being YOU. Period. My mom is coming to visit this weekend. She mentioned to me that she did her “I am” list from “Tootsie Rollin.” She told me last night she is bringing it with her to share with me. What an honor! Thank you mom, for your readiness to share with me who you are today. So, I ask again…Who are you? It is YOUR privilege.

I shared a few photos from my voyage across Europe in this blog in order to, as my vision statement suggests, teach, reach and energize…YOU…to accept your call, battle the demons inside, and discover the reward, while SIMULTANEOUSLY FOLLOWING YOUR BLISS!!

IMG_4394

“The two most important days of your life are the day you were born and the day your realized why.”-Mark Twain

4 thoughts on “IGNITION…CHECK!

Leave a Reply

