INSTA THIS

IMG_4459

It is usually in hind site that our clarity is understood. Hind site is 20/20, right? Possibly a better way to read and feel that statement is: Clarity comes from hind site vision and experience. Last week I wrote about YOUR Call to Adventure. We discussed having clarity in the midst of a confusing circumstance or life experience. My hope is you can see this confusion of clarity, or ambiguity, as a part of YOUR Call to Adventure.

The Call is during the stage that Joseph Campbell considers the Separation Stage. According to Campbell, during the Separation Stage, you are facing fears, acquiring hidden strength, and are value-tested. This is the stage where you accept that call, again, by shear force or by readiness. It is the death of your old self, old stuff, and old patterns we were possibly programmed to do. It is the death of a part of YOU. This death is painful and uncomfortable.  Sweetly stated in the film Finding Joe:

“Where there is no death, there is no life. Where there is no death, there is no transformation. Where there is no death, there is no change.”

The Bible talks about this in the book of John, chapter 15. John speaks here of The Vine and the Branches. This chapter speaks metaphorically of the pruning of dead or decayed relationships, unhealthy habits, addictions, and worn down stories (the branches) to make space for rebirth (the new vine). Look at a rose bush sometime. If you notice, the most beautiful and fragrant roses come from a single naked stick. Once we cleanse, prune or detox our body and mind from the old, we are able to access the new, live, infant experiences.. and new life paths are open.

I did a three day cleanse this week. I eliminated many of my vices that I utilize to avoid feeling or hearing that voice inside me; the one calling me to slay my mythical dragon. These vices include my phone, computer and my favorite coping skill: STAYING EXTREMELY BUSY! Didn’t think that was an addiction did you? YES it is. Our life becomes so busy we don’t stop to look at what we are avoiding or not wanting to deal with. We look to instant gratification. Like a shot of Heroine to our vein, the return of a text, or checking Facebook gratifies this craving. We sit glued to crappy reality TV and video games in order to keep our mind so busy, we can’t stop to even think, let alone be aware. We space out. Forcing our entire body into a trance; a trance of being satiated, yet starving at the same time. We fill our hole with stuff, fast-paced action, emails, insta-this and insta-fucking-that. All ways to avoid your call to adventure. These are all means of compensating for rotting branches.

Rebirth became the theme of my life last week. I experienced opportunities, which I felt FORCED into, not by people, but by my old programs running, kind of like a record skipping. You have to lift the arm of the record player and gently put it back down on the vinyl to make the gorgeous melodies play again. But a manual reset was in store in order to allow this to flow. This part of my journey has been most difficult for me. Allowing the new programs to boot. Resistance to the call keeps us dead or assists in the stagnation of new life.

Personally, I have to be at my depths, blowing snot bubbles on the arm of a friend or in the stillness of my room in order to discover the magnificence of my “death.”  Finally allowing the eruption of tears to produce enlightenment. The lessons come as I welcome them…sometimes they arrive earlier than I want, or I avoid them at all cost. With an openness in my being, I hear, I stop. I accept the lesson, finally! Thereby granting me with opportunities to recognize a softer path the next time. And there will be a next time.

In regards to technology: I utilize social media. I think it serves a purpose and I enjoy it at times. But, I have recently developed a way to limit its availability in my life and a way to avoid the urge when it arises. Mainly thru awareness. It feels weird to be phone free. But I challenge you this week to try it. Go to the store without your phone. Go to dinner with a friend with no phone. If you are driving or standing in line at the grocery store and you think, “Aw shit, I forgot to text her back…” STOP. Sit in that feeling and urge, and wait. It can wait. It will wait, and most likely you will remember later. Allow your beautiful 2.87 poundish brain to do what it does best.  You hold all the power inside you.

All human beings are the same on this journey. No matter how big or small you feel your journey or calling is. We are not separate but together in this ONE journey. We have similar experiences or different ones, but they produce the same result: Separation, Initiation and Return. We separate from the old, we initiate the new and we return to share the story. By no means is my current journey complete…but today, I share with you just a small part of MINE.

This is precisely what I mean by Journey into Yourself, the subtitle of my blog and name of my business. What a glorious journey YOU are in the midst of. It becomes more magical and theatrical when you become clear of what needs to be pruned and what needs to be awoken or released INSIDE of you.

Like a really bad playlist on your ipod…take it off repeat, start a new playlist and feel inspired, energized and ready to run into that dark, treacherous forest. I believe you can and will take the challenge. Do you?

IMG_0444

IMG_0445

IMG_0447

4 thoughts on “INSTA THIS

  1. your right the best smelling rose is on the single stick, but it needs the other parts to make it smell so sweet. Do not discount your social support. It makes Rebecca even sweeter! Keep going girl!

    Like

  2. I loved this subject. Technology serves it’s purpose but like all aspects of our lives,we need to seek control to be balanced. I believe in “moderation in all things” from eating to exercise to technology.
    Thank you Rebecca for making us aware that we can make changes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

