HERO I Go!

185135_285624644871762_698414135_n

This week has brought some serious clarity into my sight. The message sometimes comes through the voice of a friend…a stranger at the gym…or a glance…or a calling. An experience, a view of the sunset…a totally destructive thought.

Well, people, if you want clarity in your life, you have got to open your awareness and clean your glasses in order to receive the call. These smudged up, dirty, foggy, steamy goggles are not conducive to clarity. Clarity isn’t necessarily 20/20 vision either. You can have great vision with no clarity. Let me explain…

Webster defines Clarity as : “Clearness or lucidity as to perception or understanding; freedom from indistinctness or ambiguity.”

Clarity includes vision with understanding.

Vision: “I can see that road block (or as you will discover below, “A Call to Adventure”) in the way of my path.”

Clarity: I can (still) see that my Call to Adventure is a gift used by god, by the universe,  or by nature, to assist us in receiving clarity and understanding of its purpose. I understand it.

So does clarity come with complete understanding? For example: While I was in the midst of my divorce, including separation confusion, awkward emotions, uncomfortable terrain of experiences, did I fully understand why I was feeling the way I was or why this was happening? Not often. Did I have clarity, though, that this was to happen and I was to move on to a new journey? Yes. Therefore, I had clarity without consistent understanding, but clarity, nonetheless.

I truly believe this clarity came through the acceptance of MY Call to Adventure as Joseph Campbell describes in his work: The Hero’s Journey. Do yourself a tremendous favor and watch it on DVD or familiarize yourself with the story. Here is a link to an easy understanding of The Hero’s Journey: LINK

Clarity may comes during or after the second stage of The Hero’s Journey: The Call to Adventure Stage. This stage follows The Ordinary World Stage (the complacent or mundaneness of your current situation). Now, The Call can and will come at any time you are open to it, despite the circumstance in your life. From this space of adventure: A new, or redefined YOU will emerge!

The Call to Adventure: The hero (you and I) begins in a humdrum situation of normalities of life from which some information is received (for me a divorce) that acts as a call to head off into the unknown!

“Uh, no thank you. The unknown? I am comfortable here.”

“But, my dear Rebecca, adventure awaits! If you accept this call, your journey WILL begin!”

Acceptance of your new voyage must be discovered through an event or even a hardship, dangerous experience, or a request. This experience, or Call to Adventure, critically plays a part in triggering a desire to press on into the unknown!  Your destiny will continue to unfold as you continue along. Again, if, and only if, YOU ACCEPT THE CALL.

Sometimes we slip upon our quest by accident. Campbell puts it like this, “A blunder—the merest chance—reveals an unsuspected world.” This new world can be much different than we anticipated, or could even imagine, but is exactly where you are to be in the midst of your Hero’s Journey. I promise. This is where the real lessons came for me…the real uncovering of the Golden Buddha that is inside us all.

Freedom from ambiguity, the second part of the definition of clarity, is like the Acceptance of the Call to Adventure. Accept the call to your Hero’s Journey and the ambiguity of your situation will become more clear, the lessons will unfold, your inner Hero will surface. And it will be just that: A manifestation of your soul’s purpose.

We all have the choice to make a decision that may be detrimental to our growth, yet provides momentary satisfaction. Or make a decision that provides painful growth and possible discomfort, yet is the ultimate reward. What will your decision be?

While I was meditating this week I got this mantra: “Not what is NEXT. But what is NOW.” Those are the clear messages received when one quiets their mind and allows your innermost HERO to speak.

I ask you: What is NOW for you? Is it YOUR Call to Adventure? Is it time? Is it YOUR TIME?

San Diego Mud Run

“When you open your eyes you have sight. When you open your mind, heart and divine self to the infinite, you have clarity…AND ADVENTURE! Open up and accept the call.” -Rebecca on her Hero’s Journey.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

